Biography

Born on 25 July 1960 in Bergerac (Dordogne), Bruga was only 5 and a half years old when he took his first music and accordion lessons with Jeanne DANIAS.

Adolescent, he participated in several experiments of ensemble music. At 18, he formed his first dance orchestra.
In 1979, Loris CAPELLI taught him bandoneon lessons and made him meet Bernard LUBAT, of whom he was one of the first professors. In Uzeste, he meets many jazzmen in the "Compagnie Lubat". His meetings with the prestigious guests of the company (Eddy Louis, Didier Lockwood, H. Texier, D. Humair, L. Sclavis, M. Portal ...) are decisive.

At the Pavillon Baltard in Nogent sur Marne, in 1981, alongside Alain Musichini and Corinne Rousselet, he won the Trophy Trophy TF1 "The Princes of the Accordion", which reveals it to a wide audience. On this occasion, he met Jacques MORNET who runs the Thor Accordion School, now called "CNIMA". He leaves his native french south-west for the Vaucluse where he goes to perfect himself.

He discovered the concert accordion, practiced new musical forms and was also passionate about sound, synths and programming at the time of the advent of computer music. Then came the writing of arrangements, the composition of radio jingles made in his own studio, as a prelude to an activity of sustained composer unconnected with his instrument. It was only in the years 2000 that he wrote for accordion while Yvette Horner entrusted to him the realization of the album "Yvette Hors Norme". He is also the co-producer with Jean Pierre Brun.

In 1986, with his formation named "Groupe Bruga" (diminutive of his surname), he became the conductor of Michèle Torr. Since the 1990s, it has been a virtually uninterrupted presence with the greatest names in the song (Juliette Gréco, Serge Regianni, Guy Béart, Lio, Patrick Fiori, among others) either on stage or in the studio as an accordionist or arranger.

During these years, he began a collaboration with David Séchan (Editions-Encore-Merci), for which he composed and produced numerous titles of musical illustration, notably for the album "Paris Music". For Régis Delaye (Illustra Son), he composed several tracks of the album "Accordéons nous".

In 2001, the accordion remained some time away ... On the themes of Philippe Chany, he wrote, arranged and orchestrated Alain Chabat's film "Asterix & Obelix, Mission Cleopatra" recorded at Abbey Road by the London Symphony Orchestra .

This musical eclecticism does not attenuate his love for the accordion to which he regularly returns. Because it was fed on popular music, 2017 announces a first album of accordionist that dedicates to the music to dance. The references to his masters cohabit with a color of personal arrangement developed on the occasion of the realization of the album "Yvette Hors Norme".

Biographie

Né le 25 Juillet 1960 à Bergerac (Dordogne), Bruga n’a que 5 ans et demi quand il prend ses premiers cours de musique et d'accordéon avec Jeanne DANIAS.

Adolescent, il participe à plusieurs expériences de musique d'ensemble. A 18 ans, il forme son premier orchestre de danse.
En 1979, Loris CAPELLI lui donne des cours de bandonéon et lui fait rencontrer Bernard LUBAT, dont il fut l'un des premiers professeurs. A Uzeste, il côtoie de nombreux jazzmen au sein de la "Compagnie Lubat". Ses rencontres avec les prestigieux invités de la compagnie (Eddy Louis, Didier Lockwood, H. Texier, D. Humair, L. Sclavis, M. Portal...) sont déterminantes.

Au Pavillon Baltard de Nogent sur Marne, en 1981, aux cotés d’Alain Musichini et Corinne Rousselet, il est Lauréat du trophée Trophée TF1 “Les Princes de l’accordéon”, qui le révèle à un large public. À cette occasion, il rencontre Jacques MORNET qui anime l’école d'accordéon de Thor, devenue “CNIMA”. Il quitte son sud-ouest natal pour le Vaucluse ou il part se perfectionner.

Il découvre l'accordéon de concert, pratique de nouvelles formes musicales et se passionne également pour le son, les synthés et la programmation au moment de l’avènement de l'informatique musicale. Viendront ensuite l'écriture d'arrangements, la composition de jingles radio réalisés dans son propre studio, en prélude à une activité de soutenue compositeur sans lien avec son instrument. Ce n’est que dans les années 2000 qu’il écrira pour accordéon alors qu’Yvette Horner lui confie la réalisation de l’album “Yvette Hors Norme”. Il en est également le co-producteur avec Jean Pierre Brun.

En 1986, avec sa formation nommée “Groupe Bruga” (diminutif de son patronyme), il devient le chef d’orchestre de Michèle Torr. S’en suit, depuis les années 90, une présence quasi ininterrompue auprès des plus grands noms de la chanson (Juliette Gréco, Serge Regianni, Guy Béart, Lio, Patrick Fiori, entre autres) soit sur scène, soit en studio comme accordéoniste ou arrangeur.

Durant ces années, débute une collaboration avec David Séchan (éditions Encore-Merci) pour qui il compose et réalise de nombreux titres d'illustration musicale, notamment pour l’album “Paris Music”. Pour Régis Delaye (Illustra Son), il compose plusieurs titres de l'album "Accordéons nous".

En 2001, l'accordéon reste quelque temps à l'écart… Sur les thèmes de Philippe Chany, il écrit, arrangements et orchestrations du film d'Alain Chabat "Astérix & Obélix, Mission Cléopâtre" enregistrés à Abbey Road par le London Symphony Orchestra.

Cet éclectisme musical n’atténue nullement son amour pour l’accordéon auquel il revient régulièrement. Parce qu’il s’est nourri des musiques populaires, 2017 annonce un premier album d’accordéoniste qu’il consacre aux musiques à danser. Les références à ses maîtres cohabitent avec une couleur d’arrangement personnelle développée à l’occasion de la réalisation de l’album “Yvette Hors Norme”.